Seventh Member of the Truth, Reconciliation and National Unity Commission Sworn in

In the presence of the President of the Republic, Mr Danny Faure, the seventh member of the Truth, Reconciliation and National Unity Commission (TRNUC), Ms Eline Moses, was sworn in as required by the TRNUC Act 2018.

Mrs Moses fills the vacancy created following the resignation of 1 of the 2 non-Seychellois Commissioners in October 2019.  Previously, the law required that there be 5 Seychellois Commissioners and 2 non-Seychellois Commissioners. The TRNUC Act was amended in December 2019 to allow for the appointment of a Seychellois to the vacant post.

Recruitment was undertaken by the Constitutional Appointments Authority (CAA), which recommended to the President the appointment of Ms Eline Moses as the seventh member of the Commission.

Ms Moses has been actively engaged in civil society organisations in various capacities for many years. She has been deployed in 9 election observation missions abroad and has been observing local elections through the NGO Citizens’ Democracy Watch Seychelles, which she chaired until last year.