New Electoral Commission of Seychelles Sworn into office

President Danny Faure, witnessed the swearing-in of the Electoral Commissioners of Seychelles, during a swearing-in ceremony held at State House today. The new members of the Electoral Commission are: Mrs Luciana Lagrenade as Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Ms Jenny Adrienne, Mr. Patrick Joseph Hoareau, Mr. Henry Bastienne, Mr. Norlis Rose-Hoareau and Mrs Wendy Didon.

Mrs. Veronique Alcindor who is also a member was sworn in as Commissioner on the 6th of July last year and her mandate continues with the new Commission.

The new Appointments have been made possible through the 8th Amendment of the Constitution of the Republic of Seychelles, which was approved by the National Assembly on 7th April this year. The Amendment to Article 115 (a) of the Constitution changed the composition of the Electoral Commission from five to seven members.

President Faure made the appointments from candidates proposed by the Constitutional Appointments Authority as prescribed in the Constitution. The Leader of the Opposition was also consulted prior to the appointments.

During the ceremony, the newly appointed Commissioners took the Oath of Allegiance and the Official Oath.

“I feel very proud and happy to be the first lady to assume the responsibility of this very important post but having said that, I really don’t think and I’ve never believed positions should be gender specific. It depends on the qualification, determination and abilities of the person in charge, whether it’s a man or a woman, to assume the responsibility, assess where their institution is, where it has to go and what is needed to get it there. This should comprise: training of staff, a revamping of the whole place and a programme of monitoring and evaluation as well as a programme of continuous improvement,” said Mrs Lagrenade following the swearing-in ceremony.