Appointment of the New Board of the Seychelles Broadcasting Corporation

The Office of the President has today announced the composition of the new Board of the Seychelles Broadcasting Corporation.

Three Board Members are appointed upon the recommendation of the Constitutional Appointments Authority. These are Mr Gerard Lafortune as Chairperson, Mrs Marie-Anette Ernesta as the Vice-Chairperson, and Ms Evelina Antha as the Member with special knowledge and experience in financial matters.

The other Members are as follows —

Mr. Ralph Lablache, nominated by the Speaker of the National Assembly;

Mr. Audric Govinden, nominated by the Chief Justice;

Ms. Joana Nicette, nominated by the Association of Media Practitioners of Seychelles;

Mr. Michel Pierre, nominated by the Citizens’ Engagement Platform, CEPS;

Ms. Marion Gendron, nominated by the Seychelles Inter-Faith Council, SIFCO; and

Mr. Harry Tirant, nominated by the Seychelles Chamber of Commerce & Industry (SCCI).

The CEO and Deputy CEO of the SBC, as well as one staff Member of the SBC elected by SBC employees, will be ex-officio Board Members. The elected staff representative is Mr Stanio Sally.

The term of the new SBC Board took effect on 14th June 2022, and is for a duration of 5 years.